Photo courtesy Wikimedia Commons
Synesthesia is a neurological condition that causes people's senses to behave in unusual ways. If you've heard of it, you've probably heard wrong – but it is a fascinating phenomenon that is rarely detrimental and often somewhat enjoyable to those who experience it.

According to Wikipedia, synesthesia is commonly misrepresented in literature. I'm not surprised by that, as most high-profile conditions (neurological, mental and physical) get a clumsy handling in the world of fiction, and genuine portrayals are few and far between.

I'm working on the novel I started during NaNoWriMo (no, I didn't get to 50,000 words  not even close) and the plot that has been rolling off the top of my head includes a lot to do with synesthesia – both the real synesthesia, and a fictional related condition. The thing is, while I don't want the portrayal of real synesthesia to be seen as totally ignorant, I also want it to be somewhat whimsical and hyperbolic. This is mainly because I like a dash of whimsy in just about everything, but also because the character in question is highly intelligent and imaginative and exhibits a rarer, more curious form of synesthesia: ordinal linguistic personification.

Of course, NaNoWriMo is all about writing without editing as you go, and even though it's over I intend to continue in that spirit, so I'll address these concerns later. Hopefully I won't write myself into a hackish hole.

12/28/2010 08:52:38 am

It really a useful idea.I will have a tiral of this idea as soon as possible as have already frustrated by them for a long time.Thank you very much for your continously post of effective tips.

Reply
7/27/2011 04:51:44 pm

A bird in the hand is worth than two in the bush.

Reply
5/9/2012 12:21:25 pm

Hat can shading also can let you in this summer glamour to multiply, it has the function of the cold winter, can also protect the hair.Happiness always generous person concomitant with, Riches always accompanies with faith, Wisdom always and noble person concomitant, Charm will always be with sunshine person concomitant, Let all the wishes with you always.

Reply
6/27/2012 05:18:15 pm

C- For man is man and master of his fate.

Reply
7/12/2012 10:17:13 am

I read your above article you have done great job.

Reply
7/19/2012 03:40:13 pm

Amazing, great website! I must say i liked the information! You should carry on currently talking about the information, We are subscribing next! Check out this site

Reply



Leave a Reply.